Let’s get started, shall we?

Ok, I always had this very complicated relationship with blogs. Always wanted to have one, never got around to it. Actually, I made one about 6 years ago, It had one post and I never posted again.

But I will be better with this one, I promise!

So, I’ll introduce myself, what do you say?

My name is Hilaria Alexander, I am 35 and I live in Oklahoma City. I always loved reading, and I always dreamed about writing, but I could never bring myself to think what I could possibly be writing about.

Then, three years ago, I got a Kindle. I have always been a paper kind of girl: I love books and one of my favorite past-times was reorganizing my precious paper possessions. Yes, I am a nerd, but if you ended up here, something tells me you like books just as much as I do, so you know where I am coming from.

Owning a kindle was a bit of a revelation for me. Especially with little kids around, you realize how priceless it is to have a small electronic device that is sturdy, will not get ripped easily like paper, can keep your bookmark and so on.

It wasn’t until this spring, though, that I started thinking about a story. Like many of you, I read and loved books from self-published authors like Colleen Hoover, Jamie McGuire, Tammara Webber, Jennifer Armentrout, Cora Carmack and so on. And something clicked in my brain. Reading all these wonderful stories made me start thinking about other stories I wanted to read, and my mind started wandering.

It wasn’t until this spring, though, that I started thinking about a story called Prude. I knew from the beginning I wanted the main character, Prudence Clearwater, to be a wholesome young adult author that gets mocked for her “tame” writing style.

After weeks of tinkering with the idea, I told myself I had to at least “try” writing it. I had tried writing before, and could never get more than a page done. But this time around, I wanted to keep going, and although it was really hard at first, I didn’t completely hate it. That was a first.

I kept going, and the words kept piling up. I wrote pretty steadily all summer, in the evenings, on my Fit Bike, on top of everything (not getting paid to endorse a fit bike, just a fact)! Later on, I had days, weeks, where I did stall because life got in the way and because I was having a hard time writing a chapter. It seems it took me forever to write the ending too, I knew what had to happen, but it wouldn’t come to me. I ended up writing the end to my story on my cellphone, on a Friday afternoon in November.

And now, thanks to the help and encouragement of a few great girls that believed in this story, my novel, Prude, is finally done and is live on Amazon.

If you ended up on this page after reading the book, let me know what you thought of the story!

Let’s get the conversation going!

Oh, and if you are wondering what else am I gonna do, subscribe and catch up with me on twitter and facebook.

As of right now, I have three stories I want to write. I just have to find the time to do it! 😉

http://www.amazon.com/Prude-Hilaria-Alexander-ebook/dp/B00S7KKBWM/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421381603&sr=1-4&keywords=prude

Leave a Reply

