A couple of valuable lessons

I know that no one reads this blog (yet), but I am updating because I’m really trying to be better about it. Consider it an exercise.

Since the release of Prude a couple of weeks ago, not much has happened, but I have learned a couple of valuable lessons:

No. 1) I should have sent my book to bloggers MONTHS ago. I knew bloggers were busy, but I had not realized how SLAMMED they were (see what I did there? If you haven’t read Slammed yet, buy it and read it NOW). I have sent several submissions and only got one reply (thanks Lisa at True Story Book Blog!), but who knows how many months it will be before I can get a review from a blogger. However, since I am on the subject, I just want to take a moment to say how much I appreciate all the work and the promotion they do for authors out there! #BloggersRock

No. 2) The kindness of people will surprise you! I have told friends and family about the book, but I had not expected the positive reactions all around! Everyone has been sharing about Prude on their Facebook page and they all seem to love the story as much as I do, which is such a relief for a newbie! And since I just hosted a giveaway, I am already getting some positive feedback from readers!

No. 3) it’s hard to promote your book and write the next one at the same time, especially when you have a full time job and two kids. So I almost feel like I have to just sit aside promotion for “Prude” and let it run its course, while I can focus on writing the next story I want to write. These characters won’t leave me alone and when I don’t write for a few days, I just miss them. A lot.

No. 4) My friend Jennifer sent me this quote she came across the other day: “Imagination is like a muscle. I found out that the more I wrote, the bigger it got.” – Philip Jose Farmer. Well, it must be true, because ever since I began writing a few months ago, my imagination got bigger. So big and LOUD, sometimes story-lines it’s all I can think about, and I wish I would just have the time to sit down and write. So far, Including the one I’m currently working on, there are four different stories I want to write.

So I’ll bid you adieu now, and go work on Novel No.2!

2 thoughts on “A couple of valuable lessons

Leave a Reply

